Partly Cloudy



Partly Cloudy

Wind: 0 mph

  • 4 Aug 2015

    Partly Cloudy 71°F 56°F

  • 5 Aug 2015

    Scattered Thunderstorms 68°F 53°F

The Valley Reporter
P.O. Box 119
Waitsfield, VT 05673

Valley Reporter on Facebook

The Valley Reporter Restaurant Guide
Calendar of Events for the Mad River Valley
The Valley Reporter Business Listings

Harwood Awards


Harwood Union students received end of the year honors from faculty and staff on June 4. Principal Duane Pierson welcomed students, faculty and parents before the recipients received their awards. 

Business Education Department,  Ms. Joan Cnossen: Accounting - Tabitha Reed, Courtney Partlow; Multimedia - Derek Izor; PC Applications - Anna Skilton, Heather Cutler.

Computer Education Department, Ms. Joan Cnossen: C Award - Jonathan Barone, Christian Dunn; Web Award - Trevor Luce.

English Department, Mr. Steve Rand: Media Literacy Award - Cecilia Scribner

Family & Consumer Sciences, Ms. Mary Holden: Culinary Awards - Katelyn Dash, Kalie Schneider; Textile Award- Ethan Jones, Hana Martini.
Guidance Department, Ms. Jane Dudley, Ms. Cindy Wheeler: Clarkson University HS Leadership Award - Christopher Abbott-Koch; Clarkson University HS Achievement Award - Keith Nelson; Dartmouth Club Book Award- Neal Smeltzer; Principal's Leadership Award - Allyson Russell; Prudential Spirit of Community Award - Merit - Andrew Matt, Katarina Lisaius; Prudential Spirit of Community Award - Achievement - Logan Volpe, Emily Hackerson; Russell Sage Award - Kelley Foster; St. Michael's College Book Award - Katelyn Raymond, Patrick Hernandez; Wellesley College Book Award- Anna Marie Mendes; Wells Scholarship -  21st-Century Leadership Award - Galen Taylor-Jones; Wendy's High School Heisman Achievement - Katarina Lisaius, Nicholas Sisler; Governor's Institute - Lucas Sisler, Katelyn Howes, Emma Wade, Galen Taylor-Jones, Trevor Luce.
History Department, Mr. Jean Berthiaume, Mr. Tom Dean, Mr. Greg Shepler, Mr. David Munford: US History Award - Sam Ference, Galen Taylor-Jones, Heather Cutler; Three Democracies Award - Hannah Kalantari, Eli Holden,  Jonathan Barone, Tom Mehuron, Billie Ronci, Logan Cooke, Emily Reynolds, Glen Cahilly-Bretzin; World History Award - Katelyn Dash, Brittani Green; Street Law- Molly Brown, Ryan Koch; CSC Service Learning - Gabriela Meade; Psychology - Julia Hayer, Joshua Baker; AP European History - Cordelia Cluett.

Math Department, Ms. Becky Allen, Ms. Connie Lisle, Ms. Jody MacNicoll, Mr. Charlie Thompson: Algebra Award - Simon Butler, Benjamin Checkoff; Geometry Award - Nathan Mullins, Reed Brown, Myranda Maynard; AT & T Award- Eli Holden, Lorne Nix, Jonathan, Barone, Justin Romanoff; Precalculus Award - Gabriela Meade, Josh Baker; Society of Women Engineers - Heather Cutler, Katelyn  Raymond, Cecilia Scribner; Stock Market Award - Christy Caforia, Miranda Parro; UVM Mathematics Prize Examination - Joshua Fisher.
Science Department, Ms. Judy Corey: Chemistry Award - Neal Smeltzer; Bausch and Lomb Medal - Neal Smeltzer; Rensselaer Award - Joshua Baker.
Student Services Department, Ms. Ellen Berrings, Ms. Maureen Charron-Shea: Next Step Award
Service to Fellow Students - Linnea Shepeluk.

Technology Education Department, Mr. Ian Craig, Mr. Steve Skilton: Metal Technology I - Caleb Kernan; Wood Technology - Eliza Elliott; Technical Drawing - Nate Pfister; Aerospace - Benjamin Smith; Transportation - Tanner Griffith; Furniture Construction - Shannon Neill; Metal Technology II - Andrew Pitrowiski.

World Language,  Mrs. Tami Munford, Ms. Bonnie Edlund, Mr. Marcus Grace, Mr. Federico Rodriguez: Latin - Sam Hewitt, Samantha Sandretto, Jonathan Barone, Sam Ferenc, Brad Weston, Gabriella Condict, Cordelia Cluett, Morgan Nealy, Kristen Osborne; Spanish - Jamie Dillon, Claire Goodwin, Nicholas Sisler, Roberto Cofre, Ellissa Martin; French - Michael Hardin, Andrew Bell, Cheyenne White, Nina Kalantari, Ryan Koch;
Munford Award - Brooke Kiendl.



Add comment

All comments are moderated. Please include your full name and email. Email address will not be shown but are necessary for confirmation.

Security code