Light Rain



Light Rain

Wind: 0 mph

  • 26 Mar 2015

    Snow Early 44°F 32°F

  • 27 Mar 2015

    AM Snow Showers 37°F 17°F

The Valley Reporter
P.O. Box 119
Waitsfield, VT 05673

Valley Reporter on Facebook

2008 Scholarships and awards presented June 13



Scholarship money given to a senior, who has submitted a scholarship application, met the criteria and will be pursuing a two or four-year college education

Dascomb P. Rowe Scholarship -- Samantha Sandretto, Steven Griffith.
Waterbury Rotary --     Sophie Kirpan, Ellissa Martin, Andrea Castine-Kozma, Megan Taylor, Travis Hannon.

Valley Rotary -- Samantha Sandretto, Chloe Wexler.

Waitsfield Couples Club -- Gregory Mehuron, Samantha Sandretto.

Waitsfield Alumni Association -- Allison Grenier, Michael Eid.

Harwood Boosters Club -- Anna Houston, Hannah Mavin, Chloe Wexler.

Waterbury Grange #237 -- Steven Griffith.

Walker Construction -- Jacob Grout.

Griffin & Rutledge Construction Memorial Scholarship --Jacob Grout

Mad River Valley Rotary - Charlie Biederman Scholarship    -- Sophie Kirpan.

Harry N. Cutting American Legion #59 Scholarship -- Samantha Rexford, Travis Hannon.

Harry N. Cutting American Legion Auxiliary #59 -- Samantha Sandretto.

Sons of the American Legion #59 -Walter Coolbeth Scholarship -- Katelyn Raymond.

Valley Players - Performing Arts Scholarship -- Carly Boyle.

Father Logue Scholars Award -- Sophie Kirpan, Patrick Hernandez.

Evalena K. Breen Scholarship and Koster Charitable Funds Scholarship -- Sophie Kirpan, Patrick Hernandez.

North Country Federal Credit Union    Community Service Award -- Samantha Sandretto.

NAPA Auto Parts Memorial Scholarship - Memory of Nancy Brunell -- Ian Thompson.

Washington County Retired Teachers' Scholarship     -- Ellissa Martin.
The River Run Garden Club --Cecilia Scribner.

Vt. Golf Association Scholarship -- Steven Griffith.

Mountain Gardeners of the Mad River Valley -- Cecilia Scribner.

Vermont Grocers' Association Scholarship Award -- Emily Pizzale, Samantha Sandretto.

Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter #753 - Lyndon F. Murray, Sr. College Scholarship  -Samantha Sandretto.

Green Mountain Cultural Center -- Renee Myers, Carly Boyle.

Mad River Masonic Lodge #77 Scholarship    -- Wyatt Vargas.


Awards given to seniors for outstanding academics, community service and service to the school selected by the entire faculty at Harwood Union High School

Eunice B. Farr Scholarship -- Fotima Yusupova.

Harwood Faculty Award -- Martin Gutierrez.

Koster Family Scholarship Fund -- Sophie Kirpan.

George Hall Science Scholarship -- Heather Cutler.

Joshua D. Douglass Scholarship -- Jacob Grout, Keelia Liptak.

Concept II Scholarship -- Steven Griffith, Heather Cutler.

Maple Rebekah Lodge #56 Scholarship -- Kylie Aronson.

Kathy Mackay Award    -- Katelyn Raymond.

Harwood Union Teachers Association Award -- Samantha Sandretto.

The Merle & Hope Willis Scholarship -- Ellissa Martin, Joshua Baker.

James Izor/Harry LeClair Memorial Award    -- Michael Eid, Jacob Grout, Katelyn Raymond.

Harry N. Cutting Unit #59-Good Citizenship -- Wyatt Vargas.

Mad River American Legion Post #75 & -- Steven Griffith.

Auxiliary Unit #75 Scholarship -- Megan Townsend.

Leonard Vecchione Scholarship -- Jezerae Jackson.

VFW Post #792 - Good Citizenship Award -- Gregory Mehuron, Holly Bahnsen.

Peter duMoulin Scholarship -- Tanya Miller.

The Winooski Lodge #49 F&AM Scholarship -- Stephen Wilson & Samantha Rexford.


An award is some form of recognition (stipend, plaque, trophy, certificate earned by a senior for specific outstanding academic, athletic or extra-curricular achievement during high school.)

Vermont Scholars Program -- Shannon Neill.

Vermont Honor Scholarship -- Anne Mendes.

Vermont Endowment Scholarship -- Andrea Castine-Kozma.

VSAC Next Generation Initiative Scholarship -- Jezerae Jackson.

National School Choral Award -- Carly Boyle.

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award    -- Michael Fried.

John Philip Sousa Award -- Joe Simoes.

Robert F. Fielder Memorial Athletic Award -- Gregory Mehuron, Kelley Foster.

Harwood Scholar/Athletic Award -- Neal Smeltzer, Annie Mendes.
Harwood Athletic Award Outstanding Sportsmanship -- Paul Weston, Katelyn Raymond.

Harwood Union Coaches Unsung Hero Award -- Michael Shepard, Megan Taylor        
VPA & National Federation - High School Award of Excellence -- Joe Simoes, Samantha Sandretto.

Westminister College - New Scholar Scholarship -- Jack Stauss.

Northwestern Vermont Vietnam Veterans of America - Chapter 753 - Lyndon Murray College Scholarship --Samantha Sandretto.

Salve Regina University - Dean Scholarship -- Kirsten Johannesen.

Saint Michael's College - Parish & Green Mountain Scholarship -- Keelia Liptak.

Prescott College - John Wesley Powell Scholarship -- Rosely Johnson.



Add comment

All comments are moderated. Please include your full name and email. Email address will not be shown but are necessary for confirmation.

Security code