By Kara Herlihy and Lisa Loomis

Local residents who want to run for public office must file petitions signed by five percent of their town's registered voters by January 28. The petitions must be filed with local town clerks.

In towns where people must announce their intentions to run for office, their names will appear on the ballots at Town Meeting. That includes the towns of Waitsfield and Moretown. Voters in Warren, Fayston and Duxbury nominate candidates from the floor at Town Meeting.


In Waitsfield, two members of the select board are up for re-election and/or a challenge from a citizen. Board chair Elwin Neill Jr.'s three-year term is up as is board member Sal Spinosa's two-year term. On the Waitsfield School Board Wrenn Compere's three-year term is up and Missy Siner's two-year term is up.

John Reilly's three-year term as lister is up this year; Peter Joslin's one-year term as library trustee is up; Robert Danaher's four-year term as cemetery commissioner is up; and Andrew Baird Jr.'s three-year term as cemetery trustee is up. Jim Leyton's three-year term as town auditor is up and Peter Joslin's one-year term as town law agent is up.

Janet Smith's one-year term as collector of delinquent taxes is up and Jennifer Peterson's term as town clerk and treasurer is up. Wendy Gilbert's one-year term as school treasurer is up.


In Moretown, select board chair Paula Mastroberardino is running again for a one-year term, select board member Don Wexler is running again for a one-year term, select board member John Hoogenboom is running for a three-year term. Select board member Rae Washburn's term and select board member Stephanie Venema's term have yet to run out.

Charlie Abare is running for one of the two open one-year select board positions. Jay Pilliod is running again for a three-year Moretown School Board position along with Bob Holden who is also running again for a Harwood School Board three-year position. Amy Bolger is running for a one-year position on the Moretown School Board.

Chares Abare Jr. is running for constable along with Clarence Wood. Craig Eilers is running once more for a one-year tax collector positions, and Mary Joe Davis is running for lister.

Running for the open one-year town clerk/treasurer position are Amy Deutl and Cherilyn Bandy. Arnold Eastman is also running for a three-year position as cemetery commissioner.