Registered voters in all Valley towns will cast ballots on Town Meeting Day, Tuesday, March 1, to elect town officials, approve town budgets and vote on special articles. The towns of Moretown and Warren will cast votes by Australian ballot on Town Meeting Day, while Fayston votes from the floor.


In Moretown, select board member Reed Karrow's term is up and he is seeking re-election to a three-year term. Karrow was appointed to fill the remainder of select board member John Hoogenboom's three-year term.

Hoogenboom was elected to a vacant three-year seat on a write-in campaign last year. Hoogenboom's seat was left vacant by Rae Washburn who decided not to run for re-election in 2010.

Both of select board members Rob Roberts' and Dave Van Deusen's one-year terms are up in 2011; Van Deusen is not seeking re-election. Clark Amadon and Thomas Martin are both running for the one-year term.

There is a contested race for town clerk and town treasurer; incumbent Clerk Cherilynn Lamson is running against incumbent Town Treasurer Amy Deutl for the three-year term.

Deutl and Lamson are also both running for a three-year term as town treasurer. Craig Eilers is also seeking re-election to a one-year term as delinquent tax collector. 

Thomas Badowski and Diana Costello are both seeking a one-year seat as school director; Tom Allen and Eleanore Hilferty are both running for a five-year term as library trustee.


In Warren, select board member Bob Ackland was previously appointed after Ken Frey resigned; Ackland is running to fill the remaining two years of Frey's three-year term. Select board member Kirsten Reilly is seeking re-election to a two-year term and select board member Anson Montgomery is running for a three-year term.

On the Warren Cemetery Commission, John Goss and Marilyn Miller are both running for a five-year term, Cindi Jones is running for a four or five-year term, and Rudy Elliott is running for a two- or five-year term.


In Fayston, select board member Ed Read's three-year term is up. Fayston voters elect officers from the floor of Town Meeting.


In Waitsfield, select board member Bill Parker is running for re-election to a three-year term and select board member Sal Spinosa is running for re-election to a two-year term. Town Clerk Jennifer Peterson is seeking re-election to a three-year term.


Duxbury residents elect town officials from the floor. This year, select board chair JoAnn Berno is up for re-election, as is vice chair Todd Liberty and select board member Kym Andrews. Town Lister Jeff Isham's term expires in 2011.
Harwood school director Chris Koliba's term also expires in 2011. Both First Constable Henry Parro's and Second Constable Annette Griffith's terms are up this year.

Voters will convene at the Crossett Brook Middle School at 9 a.m. on Town Meeting Day, Tuesday, March 1.