Local voters join other Vermont towns in passing anti-tar sands resolutions

Voters in Fayston, Warren, Waitsfield and Moretown joined voters throughout Vermont in passing an anti-tar sands oil resolution – in most local towns it was passed by a voice vote with little discussion.

In annual town meetings across the state, voters overwhelmingly voted in support of an anti-tar sands warning on their town ballot. Towns that passed the resolution include Bennington, Burlington, Cabot, Calais, Charlotte, Chittenden, Cornwall, Craftsbury, East Montpelier, Fayston, Grand Isle, Greensboro, Hinesburg, Marshfield, Middlebury, Middlesex, Montgomery, Montpelier, Moretown, Plainfield, Putney, Randolph, Ripton, Starksboro, Waitsfield, Walden, Warren, Woodbury and Worcester. No towns in the state voted against the resolution.

Specifically, voters indicated that they did not want tar sands oil or its derivatives from the oil fields of Alberta, Canada, transported through the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont.