Officers, directors elected at health center annual meeting

The Mad River Valley Health Center elected directors and officers at its annual meeting on September 19. Officers and directors elected for the coming year are Don Murray, president (Fayston); Polly Bednash, vice president (Waitsfield); Bill Zekas, treasurer (Moretown); and Steve Fried, secretary (Waitsfield). The other current members of the board include Mike Kelley (Warren) and Danielle Hampton (Fayston) representing the towns of Waitsfield, Warren, Fayston, and Moretown. The board also welcomed new members Judy Phelon (Warren), Mike Curtin (Fayston) and Rosemarie White (Warren).



The primary mission of the health center board is to maintain a quality facility that ensures the availability of local health care. Current providers at the Health Center are: CVMC Family Medicine – Mad River, Three Moons Wellness, Hannah’s House, and Dr Richard Davis Ph.D. 

Brannstrom joins The Valley Reporter

Tracy Brannstrom has joined The Valley Reporter as a staff writer. Brannstrom, as many readers will remember, worked at The Valley Reporter in 2016-2017 before she began pursuing her PhD in Cultural Anthropology. She is currently writing her dissertation on the addiction crisis in Vermont and New Hampshire, while also covering local news. She and her partner Eddie Merma live in Fayston and are building a home in Warren. 

Chamber changes membership to annualized membership structure

The Mad River Valley Chamber of Commerce board had opted to switch its membership system to an annualized platform. This will be combined with switching to a new membership management platform called ChamberMate. Historically, chamber members have paid their dues based upon their  anniversary date of membership. (i.e., joined the chamber on February 17, 2012, invoices were generated on February 17 each year). “Although this had been the precedent, it has made for difficulties in terms of reporting and most importantly, financial planning. With that in mind, we are changing to the annualized membership structure resulting in all membership investments being invoiced at the beginning of the chamber’s fiscal year which begins on September 1 each year,” explained chamber executive director Eric Friedman. 

Members will receive invoices for the 2024 fiscal year (September 1, 2023,to August 30, 2024,) shortly. Invoices will be prorated to allow for any dues paid for current memberships to transfer to the new annualized membership. To complete the integration to the new system, outstanding balances for membership dues for the 2023 fiscal year (September 1, 2022, to August 30, 2023,) will need to be cleared.