The Harwood Union National Honor Society held its 2018-2019 induction ceremony on Sunday, November 18. Ciara Mead and Anna Schmeltzer, chapter co-presidents, hosted the event. Mead welcomed family and friends and then introduced Emma Greenwood and Schmeltzer who performed a musical duet. Mead and Schmeltzer led the new inductees in the NHS pledge.

“The ceremony, held on November 18, is a testament to the continuing emphasis on excellence that these students represent for our school and community. Throughout the year members of our chapter participate as leaders in many student and community organizations. The Harwood Union National Honor Society Chapter is pleased to be inducting these new members. We are proud of their accomplishments and welcome their energy and enthusiasm to support our continuing work as NHS members,” said Sally McCarthy, director of school counseling.

Current NHS members spoke about one of the four NHS pillars: Rex Rubinstein spoke about scholarship; Andre Latuillpe, leadership; Emily Dow, character; and Samantha Widschwenter spoke about service.


Maggie Alberghini, Amelia Allen, Maya Brookens, Emma Caffry, Ashlyn Carst, Samuel Crafts, Lila Derryberry, Anne Fennelly, Talia Frankel, Riley Gallagher, Hannah Goodman, Jackson Greenleaf, Emma Greenwood, Kyle Hekeler, Gabriella Holter, Laili Iskandarova, Anna Jamieson, Sydney Kulis, Jake Lynn, Claire McGeorge, Adeline McKibben, Sullivan O’Hara, Ayla Oshkell, Lili Platt, Eleanor Reilly, Amaya Rogers, Abigail Scharges, Olivia Schmalz, Sarah Kate Smith, Amelia Tarno, Theron Williams, Willa Yonkman and Julianne Young.